top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemgvm31

A Very Important Life Update 12/20/21


Sneak Peak

As we are wrapping up the end of the semester, graduation is getting closer and closer. For many, graduation is next semester where they can start applying for their dream careers and start their true adult life. That is the case for someone very special to me, my now fiancé.


How It Happened

The summer before fall semester, my then boyfriend and I had some couple pictures taken of us by a good friend of ours who is into photography. To our surprise, it was going to rain heavily, and our friend was not used to taking pictures in the rain. That meant that he was not too proud of his pictures, even though we thought he did a phenomenal job. A few weeks later, my then boyfriend at the time had come over to St. Paul where I live, which is 3 hours away from his hometown for us and my family to go to the state fair. Unbeknown to me, he had gone away for a while to ask for my dad’s blessing as well as my mother at a later time. He was ready to get our engagement ring a few days after.

For weeks, my then boyfriend at the time was hiding the engagement ring from me until I thought about getting couple pictures again in the snow time. That is when my boyfriend (again, boyfriend at the time, now fiancé) and our friend talked about his proposal plan. We decided to take pictures at Big Falls Forest where there is a waterfall. We took multiple pictures before the he popped the big question. As time went on, my boyfriend found the perfect place to propose. He told me to keep walking closer to the water fall as he was signaling to our friend that he was ready to propose. I turned around to ask him something and there I see him on one knee with the most beautiful ring I have seen. I was shocked and I was not sure what he was truly asking, so I mustered to say as I was tearing up, “what are you asking me??” That is when he asked if I would marry him. I obviously had said yes! I do not generally enjoy surprises, so much so that my chest was hurting when we finished embracing each other. Although this was quite the nice surprise.


What Is Next

Considering that I still have a year or so to graduate, my first thoughts was that we were going to wait to get married before I start graduate school but after I get my bachelor’s degree. However, as I was telling him that we have a lot of time before we get married, he said, “I was thinking a summer wedding, what do you think?” That means that I will be hopefully get married this upcoming summer!




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page