top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemgvm31

Life Plan, May 3rd 2022


Plans for Next Year


I am a senior as of now, however I will still be in school for another year. As I have mentioned before, I have had trouble with one of the biology courses required to continue my major. Unfortunately, I was set back two full semesters, which means I will mostly be taking biology classes for the remainder of my time here. I am scheduled to take animal form and function plus its lab, calculus, and ecology. Afterwards, I still have 2 other biology classes for the preceding semester, however, I did not want to take those next semester as my course work would be too much to focus on. Throughout my additional year, I will be continuing my research with faculty member, Dr. Gingerich. Since our research was inconclusive, we found that we needed to change some of the independent variables such as the intensity of red light we used. From there, we’re planning on retesting our experiment with a different light intensity, as well as continuing our research with different temperatures. Once I am finished with my bachelors degree, I will be focusing on taking the GRE exam again, and applying to multiple lab technician jobs to work for a year with.


Plans After School


Plans can be altered all the time, whether that is by my choice, or life circumstances. My plan is to go to graduate school no later than 2 years after I get my bachelors degree. As I have mentioned, I am getting married next year, however, I want to find a job as a lab technician to get a better understanding of lab work and tools. This would entail working with gel electrophoresis, DNA readers, DNA extraction, and lab tools. I am hoping to get a job in St. Paul, then ask if there would be a possibility for the company to pay for me to get my masters degree at an accredited forensic science masters program. I am currently looking to go to the university of Chicago’s Forensic science program or even at university of New Mexico, which is closer to where I eventually want to end up at. Through my experience with McNair, I was able to learn how to pick the right school that will also give me the better financial aid packet which will in turn help me stay financially afloat. Hopefully life goes to plan!




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page