top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemgvm31

Mentally Preparing for My First Research Conference

I was told that the more I thought I knew, the less I actually know. I believe the best way to learn is to accept that you do not know many things and be open to new information. Ignorance can always be helped by learning, and stubbornness will lead you nowhere.


As I prepare for my first research conference presentation, I have learned to accept the fact that I have yet to learn more about my research topic. That is what science is all about, to keep learning, being curious enough to come up with various research questions that have the possibility of being answered through experimentation. I understand and embrace the challenge of having to explain a subject that I have limited understanding of because of the opportunity to grow for the next presentation. I understand there has to be a “first” to everything if I am to seriously consider doing something I want to do.


I see this presentation as a learning experience to not only practice my presentation skills, but to also practice being under pressure. I often like to think about how calm and collected I will be under these circumstances; although I know that is not always the case. It could be a hit or miss, regardless of if I prepare an excessive amount or not. Although I will have to practice my lines for my first presentation.


As of now, there is a week for me to prepare for the presentation. I have finished drafting my poster and my literature review. I am focusing on final changes that will make my presentation a lot better. I expect to have a meeting with my McNair professors to look over my poster and critique my work. I understand that while critiques can be hard to take, that it is for the better that someone from the outside reviews my work. From there, editing and rehearsing will be the main priority alongside my job as a McNair scholar.


Another thing to prepare for is spacing my time to practice and refine my presentation. We were told that our presentation would be on the 19th of August, the day that happens to be a loved one’s birthday. It is mentally exciting and slightly overwhelming but knowing I will fulfill what I have been working so hard for during the summer is making me believe it will all be worth it.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page