top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureemgvm31

Pre-K, Elementary, Middle School, High School, College... GRAD?

Updated: Mar 4, 2021

Often times, a general timeline is set for us as to what our life is going to look like. We know that after Pre-k comes Elementary, and from Elementary comes middle school, and so on and so forth. Then it starts getting peculiar near our junior year of High School. We are faced with what we know them as- the ACT's and the SAT's. At least we knew it had something to do with college admissions! The college admissions process is no longer a novelty for us.

 
But what about Graduate School? How do we decide what school we are going? What are we doing so that the schools we choose, want us?

I can sit and pounder these questions all day, but I shouldn't expect results from that. What I do know is my dream career, which luckily for me, it means Medical School. I'm always happy to stay home in Minnesota, but wherever Grad School is, I will be. In addition, Medical School has two paths of which I can take. One that is similar to that of a PhD, where the main focus is more research based, and the other being a more hands-on experience. That is a great start as a deciding factor. Personally, I found that I am best at learning through a more hands-on approach, which lead me to consider an MD path. While I still haven't found an exact list of my choice, I know Medical Schools include a general checklist for what it is that is expected of me as a potential student. One of those include a STEM-version of the GRE, commonly known as the Graduate Record Examination, it's called the MCAT. From what I've learned from other pre-medical students, we've been preparing for it since we were freshmen in college. From knowing what reactions form a Carbocation, to knowing what the powerhouse of a cell (the mitochondria) is. But what I have left to do is keep powering through to be the best candidate possible.

"But what I have left to do is keep powering through to be the best candidate possible."

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page